My disappearing bee balm.

Three years ago I planted two Monarda plants. My vibrant red bee balm (the Jacob Cline Monarda cultivar) was glorious everywhere I put it — in two pots and later in the front-yard-driveway garden beneath the Crepe Myrtle tree. The photo on the left below was taken in 2021 and I shot the image on the right in 2022.


I’ve been feeling good about having planted a North American native that is a vital resource for pollinators. As spring appeared, and while weeding in the front-yard-driveway garden, I noted the reduced number of bee balm shoots making their way up. Does this perennial die out? Or, am I to blame?

Last year, I filled in with Dusty Miller, but the Bee Balm’s smaller footprint is still evident.

Should I move some plants to a spot with even more sun since its current location offers only 4+ hours daily? Have I missed the signs of powdery mildew? (This seems unlikely.) No matter how difficult for me to do, did I miss the opportunity to pinch back the earliest spring blooms? And, is the current location sufficiently moist with well-draining soil?

Hmmm…I know it’s best not to move any Monarda plants now but I will add “transplant and/or divide the bee balm” to my fall gardening to-dos. In my zone (8a), gardening is a nearly year-round hobby!

P.S. When I ventured out to take the “today photo” above, I was shocked and dismayed by the weeds happening in the gardening bed. Time to get at that (again).

Published by susantevans

Talker | Writer | Reader

Leave a comment